God’s Sense of Humor

It’s only been a week and two days since I “brushed across” the cement block holding a light pole at the Springfield-Branson Airport. If the cement block had feelings that is probably how it would describe my crash into it. What impacted me strong and hard didn’t make the slightest “dent” in the cement block.

“Nobody saw me,” I said to the mechanic when I picked up the car yesterday. “Oh, yes,” he said, and pointed to the sky. Of course, God saw me and held me in his hands! I was talking about humans. I didn’t hit another human. I didn’t hit another car. And there was nobody but me at the parking lot when it happened.

The mechanic was pleasantly surprised at how well he could fix the car for me. But there are the reminders on the passenger side. Every time I open the door to get into the car to drive, it will be a reminder to take care and, most of all, don’t think of a million things while sitting behind the wheel! Praise God for giving me a warning so I don’t cause damage on any living thing!

AbrahamSaraIsaacGod has a sense of humor! I was reminded of that while working on my story of the week. I translate Bible stories for children at risk. One of the stories was about Abraham and Sarah and how God kept his promise to them about giving them a son. I had a picture of the happy old couple and baby Isaac sitting in my files, so I decided to write a story about them.

The name Sarah means Princess. While pondering this I thought of “our” Sarah Princess. My youngest grandchild will turn 8 on the 8th of this month. Her birthday will be on Mother’s Day! What a perfect present for a mother and a grandmother (me and my daughter)!

I did not plan it but it turned out perfect! God’s planning is always perfect! “Let’s see, Sarah is having her birthday on May 8th. What story could I write to fit into that schedule?” It wasn’t that way at all. As I was writing, I was surprised by the realization of how perfect the story fit into what was happening in my life! Praise the Lord!

Abraham was given this name by God, which means “Father of a multitude.” His name Abram means “Exalted father.” Year after year he had to live with that name (Exalted father) and he had no children. But he had the promise that his descendants would be as numerous as the stars in the heavens and the sand on the sea-shore. Nobody would be able to count them! (An “intervention” by his wife to “help” God fulfill his promise gave him Ishmael, but that’s another story. See Genesis 16.)

Sarah was also a new name. God named her Princess! She would be the mother of the family chosen by God to one day bring forth the Savior!

When Abraham was 99 years old and Sarah was 90 God announced that the time was come for His Promise to be fulfilled! The promised son would be born! The little old man and the little old lady both laughed! Sarah was barren, so it would really have to be a miracle!

Then Abraham fell on his face and laughed and said to himself, “Shall a child be born to a man who is a hundred years old? Shall Sarah, who is ninety years old, bear a child?” Genesis 17:17

Here comes God’s sense of humor. I can just picture him having a little laugh! “So you don’t believe me? I’ll give you a reminder that nothing is too hard for me.” So the Lord said to Abraham, “You shall call his name Isaac.” Isaac means “he laughs.”

Every time these dear people called their son, they would remember that they laughed at God’s promise. They didn’t laugh in unbelief; it was just a ridiculous thought that they would have a baby in the house at their ripe old age! And so, Sarah became the oldest mother in the world!

By faith Sarah herself received power to conceive, even when she was past the age, since she considered him faithful who had promised. Hebrews 11:11

In hope [Abraham] believed against hope, that he should become the father of many nations, as he had been told, “So shall your offspring be.” He did not weaken in faith when he considered his own body, which was as good as dead (since he was about a hundred years old), or when he considered the barrenness of Sarah’s womb. No unbelief made him waver concerning the promise of God, but he grew strong in his faith as he gave glory to God, fully convinced that God was able to do what he had promised. Romans 4:18-21 ESV

Here is our Sarah Princess. She is the Sunlight of my world. In my darkest hour, when I had lost my husband and I was battling cancer, God sent this bundle of joy into my life. Now I will celebrate that she is eight. On Mother’s day! How cool is that!

Our Sarah Princess

Read my story of Princess Sarah from the Bible: 77 The Worlds Oldest Mother

Mother’s Day is a joyous occasion for many women. But it is also a day when many will shed tears. Some will cry because it is a reminder that they never had a child. Others will cry for the child they lost. Some have a prodigal child. Let Jesus wipe your tears! I pray that you will feel his loving embrace.

The Lord will guide you always;
he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land
and will strengthen your frame.
You will be like a well-watered garden,
like a spring whose waters never fail. Isaiah 5:11

 To all my faithful readers, be assured that God keeps His Promises. Trust Him when dark doubts assail you; trust Him when your straighten is small. Trust Him when to simply trust Him seams the hardest thing of all.

God sure has a sense of humor!

To make a Mother’s Day Card: visit MX1414.wordpress.com

20160429_020653

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Bible and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

