Why Worry When You Can Pray

If you worry, you’ll die.
If you don’t worry, you’ll die.
So, why worry?

That’s a South African proverb.

We often get into situations that make us worry. It seems like worry is always around the corner! But instead of worrying we can pray and have the peace of God in the midst of a storm.

Let me tell you a situation that worries a Sunday school teachers in Mexico. You might remember the story about the surprise they sent me for my birthday. Read it here.

The teachers decided to continue supporting my ministry. At the same time they want to teach children about missions. This teacher, who sent the package last time, crossed over the boarder to the USA and got a money order to send another offering. She was going to send 180 dollars but it was misunderstood and the money order was made out to be 118. Pronounce these two numbers and you can understand that with accents getting in the way 180 can easily be understood as 118.

What is the worry? The money order is lost! Every day I’ve been checking the mail. It should have been here days ago. The Lord knows where it is. We need to pray for it to find its way to where it belongs.

Have you heard the story of the lady that stood by the roadside carrying a big sack? A man in a pick-up offered her a ride. She continued to carry the heavy sack as she sat down in the back of the truck. “You can put down your sack,” said the man to her. “Thank you, sir,” she said. “It’s enough that you are taking me along. I’ll carry my sack.”

Isn’t that typical of what we do sometimes? God offers to take us in his loving arms and carry us through the storm, but we hold on to the burden. God is strong enough to carry us and our burden.

God has broad shoulders. He carries the weight of the world. No burden is too heavy for him. No worry is too small! The apostle Peter knew that first hand. That’s why he wrote:

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you” (1 Peter 5:6,7).

I remember when we used to sing: “Why worry, when you can pray?” I haven’t heard that song in a long time. That’s exactly what we need to do! Let’s lay whatever burden or worry we have at the feet of Jesus. Worrying can eat us from the inside out.

When I crashed into the light pole a few weeks ago, it was prime material for worry. I didn’t even know if the car was salvageable. My mechanic first didn’t wasn’t to take in the car, but then he accepted the challenge and I had the car towed to his shop. When I went to pick it up he told me how surprised and happy he was at the outcome. That was my opportunity to say a word about my Father, how when my husband died I took hold of the promise that God is the Defender of widows.

Forgive me if I’ve written about this before. It’s just so amazing and overwhelming that we can be in God’s loving care. My grandson David told me I “deserved” to have crashed the car, because I was thinking of other things than concentrating on driving. Sure, I deserved it, but I’m sure glad that God is merciful when we don’t deserve mercy.

Have you ever carried such a heavy burden that you didn’t know how you were going to handle it? There have been times when the burden has been so heavy that I thought I would crumble under the weight. But when I humbled myself and put it in God’s care, what a relief!

I feel sorry for the children and teachers that have given their offerings with love and care for my teaching ministry. Now the check is lost! But this is not the end. Will you help us pray that it finds its way to my mail box? I wrote to this dear teacher that sometimes things happen because there is a lesson to be learned. Really, we can learn a lesson from everything that happens.

I love what Jesus taught about worrying. Let me leave those words with you.

Be blessed! Instead of worrying, pray!

Matthew 6:25-34
“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

Dont Worry Pray

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

