A Trip with some Never’s

Have you ever fallen asleep in the midst of packing and woken up with a start by the doorbell? What doorbell? The ring of someone coming to pick you up, to take you to the airport!

I had that experience a few days ago. What a horrible feeling of despair! I guess worse things can happen, like to keep on sleeping, nobody ringing your doorbell, and missing the flight!

God is so good! So gracious! So patient! He knew I needed some rest before the long trip of 35 hours, so he let me sleep. I had to rush around to get the suitcases and myself ready, but I made it, even with time to spare.

I’m back in Sweden with my father. This trip has had a few “never’s,” like…

  • NEVER BEFORE fallen asleep without the bags packed!
  • NEVER BEFORE had such long lay-overs, making the trip 35 hours.
  • NEVER BEFORE received a $300 travel voucher.
  • NEVER BEFORE been tricked into believing I could “skip” going though Security.
  • NEVER BEFORE spent the entire trip coloring patterns.

Here are some of them!

Pattern 1Pattern 2Pattern 3pattern 4Still working on this one!

They needed a volunteer for the flight Springfield-Chicago. Why not do it, since I was going to spend all day in Chicago before my flight to London? Now I have a voucher so I can book another flight, with the possibility of falling asleep without packing my bag. I sure hope the NEVER BEFORE experience with unpacked bags becomes a NEVER AGAIN one!

I have to have assistance when I travel. The girl assisting me in Chicago took me to a gate where “supposedly” there was a bus going to the terminal for British Airways and NO need to go through Security. How did I let her trick me into that? Later I had to have the hassle of having someone else come and walk with me to take the train to another terminal. NEVER AGAIN will I let that happen!

One thing I appreciated very much was the helpfulness of the flight attendants, on all three flights. NEVER BEFORE have they been so helpful. Here I want to write HOPEFULLY AGAIN! Kudos to British Airways flight attendants!

Kudos to BA“How can I repay the Lord for all his goodness to me?” asks the writer of Psalm 116. I feel like asking that question in regards to this trip. I see God’s goodness in the people he sent my way.

At my arrival in Sweden, the girl who assisted me was very kind. She saw one of the ladies waiting for her baggage who looked very fragile. “Don’t worry about your bags. I will help you,” she said. She stayed on to make sure she helped this lady lift her bags from the baggage carousel. “Wow! This feels good,” she said. “Now I can have a good night’s sleep!”

What an awesome attitude! My brother-in-law Ola, who met me at the airport, is also a very helpful person. I praise God for every one who lent me a helping hand.

How can I repay the favors? I can’t! But we can always pass on the favors to someone else. Like they say, “Pay it forward!”

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Spring in Sweden 2016 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

