Making Memories with my Grandchildren

A dream come true! To be in Sweden with my grandchildren! That’s something I would not have imagined. It’s a gift!

For my daughter it’s something she has been dreaming about for many years, to show her family the country of her roots. We spent three years in Sweden when she was a child. Today she will see her Swedish childhood home and also the town where her Father was born and raised. Many memories were made those close to forty years ago!

Davids LaptopI am spending the day with this charming young man. David and I stayed home so my Father could go with them. David won this lap-top at school for participating in academic competitions and winning several medals in math. “It was a raffle,” he told me. “They bribed us!” He still won, and that makes a grandmother proud!

Two of the girls and I had an enjoyable walk the day they arrived. My Dad lives two blocks from a beautiful lake. In the picture below you can see his balcony and living room window. It’s my sister Agneta and her husband Ola’s house.

Evening stroll 02Evening stroll 01I admire this “see trough” portal every time I go down to the lake. On this day we had the Swedish flag welcoming us.

Brianna might be missing her Rascal cat from home, so when she saw a little kitten on our stroll, my camera was welcome. I focus on the heart! Hearts are my specialty… they remind me of the “Seed of Love” message I have on my heart to spread! Read about it here!

Evening stroll 04I used to have a hobby of collecting pictures of license plates. It was something that distracted me and helped me in the healing process after the death of my daughter Eva-Marie. Here I have one more to add to the collection, photographed by Brianna. So now you know what Swedish license plates look like!

Evening stroll 03Spring is a wonderful time of the year! This week has been awesome, with warm and sunny weather… perfect for picture-taking! You might have figured out my now that I love pictures. I love children! I love flowers! Most of all I love Jesus, my Savior!

Bri Sarah SWE 2016 01Guess what Sarah loves? The little girl in the front loves her tongue! Every time I want to take a picture of her she will show it off. I asked her about it. Her reasoning was that her tongue is beautiful. So, why not show it to the world?

We might laugh at this childish and playful thing. But, would I show off my tongue? Would you? We do it every day, maybe not literally as Sarah, but with our words we show what kind of a tongue we have.

“Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt”, we read in Colossians 4:6. James, the brother of our Lord Jesus, wrote about the tongue in chapter 3 of his letter.

With it we bless our Lord and Father, and with it we curse people who are made in the likeness of God. 10 From the same mouth come blessing and cursing. My brothers, these things ought not to be so. 11 Does a spring pour forth from the same opening both fresh and salt water? 12 Can a fig tree, my brothers, bear olives, or a grapevine produce figs? Neither can a salt pond yield fresh water. James 3:9-12

I wasn’t planning on writing about the tongue. I got distracted, thinking about Sarah’s innocent and childish game. But with the use of our tongue we are not “innocent.” It’s the smallest member, but what a great fire it can set! May God help us to show a beautiful and gracious tongue!

It is serious business. We will give account for every careless word we speak.

“For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks. 35 The good person out of his good treasure brings forth good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure brings forth evil. 36 I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak, 37 for by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.” Matthew 12:34-37

Sarah SWE 2016 02 Sarah SWE 2016 01

The tongue show-off goes on. She will outgrow it, I hope. Sarah asked me why we need a tongue. “Try eating without a tongue,” I said. Her sister Brianna used to show her little tongue. I have a special page in my scrapbook with only pictures of her showing her tongue. She makes good use of it. Sometimes she runs her mouth faster than her brain can think! How important the we use our tongue to glorify God!

Bri SWE 2016 01This is my BFF Brianna

Bri SWE 2016 04 Bri SWE 2016 02 Bri SWE 2016 03 That was it! An enjoyable memory. Life is about making memories. That’s what we have left when the years slow us down. More and more I’m living on memories, but now is one more time to make some new ones!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Spring in Sweden 2016 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

