A Generous Plant Lover

A sunny Sunday afternoon. My niece Siv is visiting. Like her mother, my sister Agneta, she loves plants. So we take a short trip to visit Ingvar, a man who collects plants and trees. And he is generous. Without charging for it, he will walk around his big yard, show the plants, and pull some by the roots and give you some, if you would like.

Ingvars Place 00It was hot, but comfortable. I would have loved to “walk” around and take in the beauty of each plant, but the chair on wheels that I use when I’m in Sweden allowed me to take in some beautiful views. I’m amazed and happy with the results. My camera is tiny. It fits comfortably in my hand. Something tiny can also give good results. See here some of the pictures.

Ingvars Place 01 Ingvars Place 02 Ingvars Place 03 Ingvars Place 04 Ingvars Place 05I love reflections! A little fish pond made for good ones. Brianna and Sarah, two of my granddaughters, enjoyed running around the pond and looking at the fish.

Ingvars Place 06 Ingvars Place 07Ingvar has some 100 trees on his property. He has them all tagged with their names. My niece Siv is holding on to a very thorny tree. The trunk is covered with thorns. “Scratch my Back” is the name of it; very fitting indeed!

Ingvars Place 08 Ingvars Place 09 I asked Ingvar if I could take a picture of him. “No,” he said. It cost so much you wouldn’t have enough to pay for it!” But as generous as he is with giving away plants, he was with posing for this picture.

Agneta and Siv each have a bag full of plants that Ingvar has given them. But this was not the only plants they received. The “tour” continued and he gave them more. All free of charge! Ingvars Place 10 Ingvars Place 11I could not accompany on the “tour” because it was hard to push the wheelchair on the grass. The girls stayed with me and played, and I pondered. Ingvar’s generosity is amazing. Sometimes a busload of people come to visit his place, and he “showers” them with flowers!

I thought of my “Seed of Love” ministry. I give away another kind of plants. All the lessons and stories I write and publish are given away for free. Some might take it for granted, but last week I received a note from a teacher in Venezuela. She wondered what she could do to send me an offering. That’s the hard part. It’s not easy to send money from country to country.

I might have written about a teacher in Mexico who crossed the broader to the United States to send me an offering. The check is lost. She went back to the Post Office and was told they could do nothing to trace it. I hope I find it with my mail when I get home! She is very sad about this.

Ingvars Place 12 Ingvars Place 13You can see the back of the car filled with plants. Free plants! Not much is for free these days. But I know one thing… God invites us to come to Him free of charge. His salvation is free. The way to Heaven is free for us, but it cost Jesus his life. Now He offers us Free and Abundant life!

Come, everyone who thirsts,
    come to the waters;
and he who has no money,
    come, buy and eat!
Come, buy wine and milk
    without money and without price. Isaiah 55:1

I get excited thinking about it! Such gracious and endless loves God bestows upon us! I cannot thank Him enough. Have you accepted His love? Have you let Him show you all the wonders He has in His Garden of Love!

Sarah June 2016

I’ll finish my greeting today with a smiling girl (who is not showing off her tongue!); my favorite eight-year-old in all the world!

One of these days I will tell you about the Garden of Love Cristina and I are preparing for teachers to use in the classroom, to inspire children to be kind and helpful. Could also be used in the home!

That will be for another day… Today we celebrate our National Day here in Sweden. It was a long, long time since I could celebrate this special day in the country of my birth.

Long live Sweden and generous people like Ingvar!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Spring in Sweden 2016 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

