My Hero Father

Praise the Lord!
Blessed is the man who fears the Lord,
who greatly delights in his commandments!
His offspring will be mighty in the land;
the generation of the upright will be blessed.
Psalm 112:1,2

PatriarcaThis is the man I call Father, Daddy, Papito, Pappa, Pappsen… They say in Sweden that a beloved child has many names. The same can be said for a much-loved Dad. I cannot thank God enough for a Hero Father. He would not like me to write this; least of everything he considers himself a hero. But in my book he is a hero of faith. He is My Hero!

My Hero Father fears the Lord and delights in His Commands. He has taught me to fear God and delight in honoring God’s Commands. For that I am most thankful. Because of a father who loves God, my siblings and I have been blessed.

On this Father’s Day I want to honor my Hero Father. In the name of the Lord I want to bless him, and wish for him sunny and happy days until God calls him to his eternal home.

I am blessed to be visiting him. We have just got back from Church and will be having dinner with my sister and her husband. Back home in the United States, I know someone who is already awake, even if it’s just 5:21 AM. My grandchildren’s father, my daughter’s husband, my son-in-law… I picture him with a cup of coffee and his Bible, preparing for Sunday school. He teaches the children at “his” church. Happy Father’s Day, Thom!

My Hero Father is a man with many talents. His latest project has been on the loom. That’s where I often found him the first days of my visit. With yarn and strings made of old sheets he has woven me a runner to put on my dresser. Here you can see him in action.

Dad and the Loom 01Dad and the Loom 02 Dad and the Loom 03 Dad and the Loom 04Again, I cannot thank God enough for giving me a Christian Father. I call him my Hero because he has taught me great faith in God. What a wonderful privilege for me, at age 70, to still have my father. Maybe someone reading these lines has sorrow today because of an absent father. I pray that you will find peace and joy in the embrace of your Heavenly Father. An earthly father can be a great model and hero, but to know God, our Heavenly Father, and to call him “Abba, Father,” has no words. He is our Rock, our Fortress, the Almighty, our Everything!

I praise God for an earthly Hero Father, but praise, honor and glory forever to my my “Abba, Father,” my God and Savior, who blesses me with his joy and peace, who daily bears my burdens. May His Name be honored and praised! Only He is worthy of all honor!

Happy Fathers Day Ps 112

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family, Spring in Sweden 2016 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

