Some Thoughts on my Very Busy Summer

CucumberWhat is summer without something home grown? This cucumber is not “mine,” so to say. I have had to give up growing things. Mostly I’ve had flowers. This cucumber was given to me when my grandson David visited. We both thought it looked funny. But even a funny-looking cucumber can be good.

PumpkinsThese pumpkins are the “fruit” of a joke my husband played on my while he was still with me. He hid some pumpkin seeds in my flower bed! It was the only time we grew pumpkins!

Sarah and last tomatoesSarah and last tomatoes 01tomatoe basketAnother fun thing was to grow tomatoes. The little girl who helped me pick them is quite bigger now. As she (Sarah) is growing my energy level is decreasing, so there is no growing vegetables… just a few flowers.

Today we saw many samples of plants that people have grown and submitted for the contest at the Fair in Springfield. It’s the 80th Anniversary of the Ozark Empire Fair. And this Wednesday afternoon the rides were free. “We” stands for myself and two of my grandchildren who are visiting this week. Here they are high up in the air.

Up in the airYesterday we visited the Laura Ingalls Wilder home, where the “Little House” books were written. It was quite an adventure. We ended up in Marshfield instead of Mansfield! My eyes are not picking up signs very well. It was easy to confuse the name. We took it as an extra sightseeing tour. It gave us a chance to see a few Amish buggies. It was interesting to see signs about sharing the road with buggies. It sure looked dangerous with the horse-drawn carriages sharing the road with cars that come speeding along the highway.

It took us a while to locate the Museum because they had changed location, but we did not give up. This was very important for Brianna. She is an avid reader and loves the “Little House” books. This might not sound so “adventurous,” but considering it was around 100 degrees F. and that for every stop we had to get a wheelchair out of the trunk of the car, it took a lot of energy. Brianna was so good in pushing it for me. For the up-hill I used it as a walker.

To one of the attractions, the Rock House, the girls had to go by themselves because it was not handicap friendly. There was only a small mishap. Sarah stepped in a puddle. See her wet shoe!

Sarah and shoeSarah has a big brother who is in the Navy, serving in Japan. How she misses him! Her big concern is that he might not come back. We talked about it and I encouraged her not to worry but to pray for him, which she does.

My Assistant Christina’s niece also has concerns. She misses her Dad, who works on a cruise ship and is away for months at a time. One day she asked Cristina what she should do with the hurt she has inside. Even a little 5-year-old can feel a hurt in her heart, a lump in her throat. One day she told another of her aunts that her patience was wearing thin waiting for her Dad to come home!

RummikubHere is a picture of a fun Rummikub game. To build a complete set of numbers is not so common. This afternoon when we came back from the Fair we played a game, but first this is what we cooked:

ArtichokesArtichokes! I’ve had some bad experiences with artichokes, when I’ve set them to boil and fallen asleep while waiting. Two times in the last few years I’ve woken up to completely charred artichokes, no water in the pan, and totally black bottom! What a miracle that I didn’t burn my house!

Today went well. We had the artichokes for dinner. Corn and sandwiches for Sarah! Someone had the idea that we could play Rummikub while we ate. It takes lots of time to eat an artichoke. You peel them leaf by leaf and eat the bottom part, dipping it in some sauce. It’s good food if you want to practice patience! And it give you lots of time to talk or to play a game!

So we multi-tasked! We ate dinner, we played Rummikub, we watched Wheel of Fortune, and we talked! It’s Wednesday… Church night! We missed it! But Sarah had a good idea when she was going to pray for the food. She asked for prayer requests! She thought it was a little weird but she wanted to do it.

I gave my request, which this time was for Cristina’s niece who has a bad tooth-ache. Brianna’s request was for Sarah. But Sarah thought it was weird to pray for herself. I told her to thank God and ask Him to bless her. I guess she had always prayed for others and not for herself. She couldn’t do it! So she prayed for Brianna’s regular request: the children in India and China who suffer. Sarah prays for the children in Africa.

Speaking of India, China and Africa, I have to tell you about one of “my” Sunday school teachers. I call them “my” teachers when they use the lessons I publish on-line and keep in contact with me. This is a mother in her late twenties, who teaches preschoolers. She is writing a series of lessons on “A Missionary Heart,” to inspire the children in her church about missions. This is the teacher in Mexico I have written about before, the latest about the check that didn’t want to get lost! Her name is Pilar.

Pilar has also set up studies with several of her relatives. They are studying the series of lessons I published on the HOME in 2014. It warms my heart!

Back to my precious Sarah. The girls were telling me about a girl they don’t like. They even called her “nasty.” I told them they could pray for her to know the Lord. “I don’t think she will be a very good Christian,” said Sarah. Then came the conversation about how the Lord changes our heart.

One more fun thing. The girls were photographed at the Fair. They are one of the many faces in the crowd on the day of free rides. News-Leader.com/Faces Scroll to see if you find them. They are there!

Here are the girls, after church on Sunday. The beautiful dress in black that Brianna is wearing used to be my oldest daughter’s. When she passed I couldn’t make myself give away everything. This is one thing I saved. How precious to see my grandchild in the dress!

Brianna Sarah 2016

The day is gone. My alarm for my late-night medication has gone off. So now I will sign off and get some rest before another busy day with my precious girls. I love them to pieces. A week of vacation with grandmother does not mean “vacation” for grandmother. I’m sure you get what I mean.

See you soon… with another blog! Be blessed!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

