Running for Gold

As I’m writing, I’m looking at a man who’s going to run in the Olympics. He’s won gold every time he has been in the games. By the time I finish writing I’ll know if he won again.

I admire the athletes. They work hard. They sacrifice to reach their goals. Some win medals. To me they are all winners, because just being in the games is a win!

Bolt from Jamaica won again in the 100 meters, for the third time in a row. First man in history to score this win! “The fastest man in the world,” says the reporter.

Running for goldThe Apostle Paul knew about these races. He used them as an example for a much greater race. The race for Heaven!

 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified. 1 Corinthians 9:24-27

I love what he wrote at the end of his life.

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Henceforth there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will award to me on that Day, and not only to me but also to all who have loved his appearing. 2 Timothy 4:7,8

That is the race for gold that counts! A gold medal in the Olympics is nothing compared to the Crown of Righteousness.

  • Fight the Good Fight.
  • Finish the Race.
  • Keep the Faith.

When Jesus comes he will give us the unfading crown of glory (1 Peter 5:4).

This crown of glory is also called “crown of life.” In James 1:12 we read: “Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him.”

Be faithful unto death, and I will give you the crown of life. … I am coming soon. Hold fast what you have, so that no one may seize your crown. Revelation 2:10; 3:11

It’s all because of Jesus! He bore a crown of thorns so we could be crowned with righteousness. Precious, wonderful Jesus!

Then Pilate took Jesus and flogged him. And the soldiers twisted together a crown of thorns and put it on his head and arrayed him in a purple robe. They came up to him, saying, “Hail, King of the Jews!” and struck him with their hands. Pilate went out again and said to them, “See, I am bringing him out to you that you may know that I find no guilt in him.” So Jesus came out, wearing the crown of thorns and the purple robe. Pilate said to them, “Behold the man!” When the chief priests and the officers saw him, they cried out, “Crucify him, crucify him!” John 19:1-6

For us who are “over the hill,” crowned with gray hair and blessed with grandchildren, we’ve won gold many times over! We have overcome many battles. One of my toughest ones was when I lost my husband and had to face cancer and loneliness, all at the same time. Glory be to God that I’m on the side of victory. Loneliness is still a battle, but looking to Jesus is the joy of my life.

Gray hair is a crown of glory; it is gained in a righteous life.
Grandchildren are the crown of the aged. Proverbs 16:31; 17:6

I hope you are with me in the race for the “real” gold. May God bless you this week with a winning spirit! Pray for the athletes. Pray that they may start running the race that will bring them the crown of life.

Shalom!

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Victory and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running for Gold

  1. Dawn Bryant says:

    Beautiful! I am running with you. Can’t wait to hear those words with you my friend. We love you very much!

    Dawn ❤️

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist says:

    Greetings and love to you and John!

Leave a Reply

