My Worst Senior Moment, Yet!

For those of you that live in a country other than the United States, you might not have heard the expression “Senior Moment.” That is something that happens to people in their Golden Age when there is a short-circuit in the brain.

The short-circuit that happened to me is beyond explanation. I still have not stopped thanking God for helping me straighten out things. I’m writing this testimony to give God the glory. He is the “Protector of widows” (see Psalm 68:5). I have held on to that promise ever since my husband went to be with the Lord almost nine years ago. (Has it really been that long?)

The story has to do with a Voucher and an Invitation. No, let me rephrase: two invitations!

I am invitedTwice invitedThis invitation is for a wedding. I feel like I’m really invited because I received two invitations. My favorite nephew is getting married. Why is he favorite? Maybe because I got to spend time with him in Peru in 2010 and got to know him better than the others.

ChuckGrandpa SHere he is with Dad at that time. It was so neat to see them together.

When the invitation came… no, when the invitations came, I knew I had to be present. I had a voucher that would pay most of the air fare. I’ve even cancelled an important doctor’s appointment to be able to go.

Now comes the story of the Senior Moment! I received a voucher at the start of my trip to Sweden in May, because I gave up my seat on the flight to Chicago and got on a later flight. That $300 voucher had to be guarded like cash, so when I came back home I put it in a very safe place. It was such a safe place that I couldn’t find it! I looked for days in all the “safe” places I could think of! I finally found it! Where? Clipped on to the calendar for the month of August! Very smart thinking, since I had to use it in August to order the ticket to the wedding! But this is not the Senior Moment!

Finally, on Saturday, when I had found the voucher, I decided to order the ticket. Even with the voucher I had to pay some $71.00. I was instructed to mail the voucher and write the departure date on. Even as I did that, no light bulb turned on.

Miracle voucherYesterday evening, for some reason I called Cristina on Skype (or did she call me?). It was past office-hours. I don’t usually talk to her in the evenings. Out of the blue I told her, “Now I know when you have to take your vacation!… Starting September 14th!”

That’s when it hit me! The wedding is the 10th of September! What had I done ordering a ticket for the 14th? I could not run fast enough to the phone. My ticket was non-refundable. The person I first talked to said it would cost me $200 to change the date. Then I was directed to a very helpful young man. It would all depend on the voucher. Had it not been cashed, this situation was salvageable. That’s why I call it my miracle voucher. It had not been cashed!

My reservation was cancelled and a new one was made. Now I’m traveling on the 7th and going back home on the 14th! What a horrible Senior Moment! I could have arrived at the scene when everyone had already gone home!

How good is God my Father! Had I not called Cristina last night (or did she call me?)… had I not told her when I needed her to take vacation (btw, she cannot take vacation at that time because it’s her dad’s birthday. But I’ll leave her plenty of work to do!)… then I would be stuck with my ticket for the 14th of September.

Here is the good part! For the previous ticket I had to add $71.00 to the voucher. To this new ticket I have to add only $15.00. That leaves me $55.00 to pay for my luggage.

Lesson learned? What I already knew, that my brain is starting to suffer from old age. And that my Heavenly Father is my Protector.

There will be many more of these Senior Moments, I’m sure.

Thank God with me that despite all the BIG issues He has to be dealing with from around the world, my Father has time for each individual, and He takes the time for what could be considered a trivial matter. But for the Lord nothing is too big or nothing is too small.

Glory be to God for His abundant love and care!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Gratitude, My Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

