My Friend Olga is Called Home

Did you think I had another Senior Moment? That I had forgotten about my blog? No, I’ve been thinking about my reader friends but my mind has had an overload of activity. There is only so much a person can take. Anybody knows that!

This past week I left everything except a project Cristina and I worked on for praying about the school year. When I finished with the Spanish it ended up being 25 files. This week I hope to finish the English and share it with you. Why so many files? We have done it in 2 Bible versions and in 2 sizes of paper, considering that not every country uses the same size of paper.

Today is a very special day. Thirteen years ago a beautiful boy was born, who filled the void after my daughter. I had hoped to celebrate the day with him but I haven’t been feeling well, so I did not dare to drive for several hours. I have to postpone the celebration!

On the same day a beautiful girl was born, who later became part of our family. I have double reason to celebrate!

But right now my mind is on another kind of “celebration.” A friend from youth has been called to her eternal home. At this very moment her daughter is texting me, thanking for an “offering” I sent to help them with the medical bills. I feel like my contribution is just a drop in the bucket, but even the ocean is made up of drops.

I have mixed feelings. As I’m writing I get messages and photos on my phone. When I got to know my friend we didn’t even have phones! My friend Olga Carhuachagua de Amaya  is from Tarma, Peru where I met her when my parents started a church there. We were inseparable and were known around town for distributing Christian tracts, visiting the Hospital and the Prison. When we made our rounds with the tracts, most of them were laying in the gutters as we headed home. But I was tenacious and figured that someone was going to keep the message and take it to heart. So we continued our Tract Mission week after week!

During this time Olga met Oswaldo. She was under-aged and her parents didn’t want her to marry until she turned 18. Before that time our family went for a year to Sweden. It was discovered that she was a year older than they had thought, so her parents wrote Dad asking for permission for Olga and Oswaldo to marry. As the missionary and founder of the church they respected Dad. Wow! I’ve never heard of something like that since, but they got their permission. Just a few weeks ago these love birds celebrated their 53rd Anniversary.

We lost contact. Our lives went in different directions. Recently, through Facebook, I made friends with Olga’s oldest daughter. The name Carhuachagua is not very common, so when I saw it, it jumped out at me. Thanks to Facebook I was now privileged to follow my friend’s struggles the last days of her life on earth. Let me show you some pictures from those days.

I just realized I’ve done a blog with these pictures a couple of years ago, but repetition never hurts.

Tarma Tract MissionTarma Prison MinistryTarma Baptism Jan 1962Tarma Osvaldo and Olga baptismDad baptizes my friend and her boyfriend.

Tarma Olga washingHere my friend is washing clothes for the family.

The “washing” days are over for Olga. And her “trusting” days have come to an end. Now she can rest in the loving arms of our Father. I’m so glad God called Dad to go to Tarma and preach the Gospel. Otherwise maybe Olga had not known Jesus.

Please pray for Olga’s family that is now grieving the loss of their loved one.

About trusting… Here is something to think about and remember.

Leave it to the Lord

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Friends, Trust and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

