When the Sun Came Through

If you’re a bride and you are getting married in God’s beautiful cathedral and the rain is pouring, you might not feel overly excited.

the-bride-the-rainHere is the bride, probably wondering if her wedding was going to be a washout. Now I’m wondering if that is a fitting expression. The fact of the matter is that IT WAS RAINING. My nephew Chuck was getting married to Elizabeth, and they had chosen to do it at Stormy Lake in Wisconsin. It was an amazing occasion. All five Anderas siblings had met up; that is, Chuck’s aunts and uncles. Here we are!

the-five-of-usThis is history in the making. It is only the third time we have met all five at the same time since we were kids. At Dad’s 80th birthday and when our niece Emilie got married. We have been spread out… in Peru, Bolivia, USA, Burkina Faso, Sweden. At Mom’s funeral we would have met up all of us. But it was around 9/11 2001 and all the flights to Sweden were cancelled. My brother Pepe and I, who live in the States, had to stay home.

You can see a tent in the background. That was there for back-up, in case the rain didn’t stop. When the wedding day arrived the rain was pouring. I’m sure most of us did like our little bride on the picture at the top… looked out and wondered and prayed. The wedding was to be at 4.00 pm. The weather forecast said it would stop raining by that time. Could we trust the weather man? I would rather trust Him who holds the weather and all of us in his hands. How many might have prayed, “Lord, please let it stop raining?”

rain-by-the-lakeThe chairs were all set up. They had to be emptied of water and dried several times. How do I know? I had a cabin close to the chairs. So I kept looking out of the window and praying.

the-cabinLow and behold! About and hour before the wedding the sun peaked through the clouds! What a happy sight!

stormy-lakeThis is the lake by which my brother Pepe’s kids have spent their summers. This was the place where my first-born caught her first fish. We visited my brother on our way to Bolivia after a short furlough in Sweden.

evas-first-fishMight Eva-Marie be looking down to us from heaven? She never got to marry. As a child her dream was to marry a rich America pastor! Where did she get that idea from?

ready-for-the-bride-and-groomThe sun is shining… Thea arch is ready. Sadly to say we were asked to not take pictures, so I don’t have any. It was a beautiful ceremony. The sun shone brightly on the bride’s maids and the flowers. That was what I saw from where I was sitting. For someone addicted to photographing it was hard not to take pictures!

charles-and-elizabethBorrowed this picture from Facebook. The next ones I took.

chuck-and-bizziekissingAs I mentioned in my previous blog my little camera is acting up. Here is another proof!

three-friendsDo you think the lady on the left has pink hair? The friend in the middle is Karen. We were friends in Canada when I passed through there for a few months as a kid. On the right is Sherryl, the mother of the groom. When she and my brother got married Karen’s boys and my girls were in the wedding party and even Karen (in blue) and her husband (Sherryl’s brother). It was so much fun to catch up on our lives.

Colorful Wedding Partycarina-and-brettKaren’s boy Brett with my girl Carina

On the following picture the camera is behaving. The parents of the groom look just fine. But the ground is purple!

pepe-and-sherrylWhen I was going to take a picture of the flower girl, Pepe and Sherryl’s oldest grandchild, it only captured her hair.

flower-girlThe cake! Now the camera got into a shrinking mode! There is no doubt I have to replace it! Just kidding about the cake… But it was tiny. It was special and gluten-free, made especially for the bride and groom. We others had donuts!

tiniest-wedding-cakeNext time there is a family wedding… it will be with GREAT-nieces or GREAT-nephews… It might even be one of my grandchildren. Time flies. I’ll just sit back and wait.

I wonder whose invitation is going to come. I hope I’m still around to show up. But it will NOT be with this little tricky camera. I’ll have to invest in a new one so I get clear pictures with the right color of hair… with green pastures (and not purple)!

That’s my plan! “Little camera, you are out the door…” And I’m off to bed. See you all another day! Blessings!

 

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When the Sun Came Through

  1. Cassie McCown says:

    Hi, Kerstin. I always enjoy your blog posts!! Hope to see you again sometime. 🙂

Leave a Reply

