Designed for Life Twenty 16

A week ago I couldn’t have dreamed that I was going to be attending a big women’s conference right here in Springfield with women from all over the world.

I knew there was going to be a conference, but in my “conservative” Swedish opinion the price tag was too high, so I didn’t reflect too much on it. Also, it was to be held in a big arena. Even from handicap parking there would be very much walking, which I can’t handle. Those were my thoughts. But as Scripture tells us…

For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord.
For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
so are my ways higher than your ways
and my thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:8,9

God thoughts are higher then ours. So let me tell you how the story unfolded.

There is a big Assemblies of God church in this area called James River Assembly. A month ago they started services close to where I live; they call it the North Campus. I was in Wisconsin for the opening service but attended the second Sunday. On Monday evening the campus pastor and his wife came by with cookies for me. To my great happiness and surprise the pastor is Indian (like from India).

corazon INGLES ROJO2You might remember me writing about how God has put India on my heart. I got very excited about this contact. I hope to one day go to India, taking my stories and Bible lessons. As soon as I finish working with the Spanish I will devote full-time to this area. If you are reading this and would like to help, contact me.

I went back last Sunday and visited the Welcome Center. The lady I spoke to encouraged me to go to the conference. But how would I get there and who would I go with. As I prayed about it God put a name in my heart. I sent a message on Facebook for my friend.

There was a hurdle to overcome: my “conservative” Swedish opinion regarding the price. But I have learned the importance of listening to God’s voice. If He instructed me to go, and who to go with, then who was I to argue. So I paid the “late-comer” registration fee for both of us, with a happy heart. (That same day I was promised another free-lance job, that will cover this extra expense and provide so I can continue employing my artists in Peru and Coast Rica! God is so good!)

sisterhood

Here we are, my friend Janet and I, in the Sisterhood photo booth.

I don’t have official statistics but from personal estimates there musts have been some 5,000 women… many, many of them young people. Both Janet and I were so happy to see all these young girls. What a promise for the future!

welcome-dfl

Young girls welcoming us.

A former Sunday school student from Peru, when she saw on Facebook about the conference, wanted notes on the teachings. I will have to disappoint her! I’m always taking notes, but the seating we had was high up (fourth level) and the light didn’t reach us. Maybe I needed to rest and just listen!

dfl-2016

Happy to have obeyed the Lord about the Conference!

Would you like to know who the speakers were? I can at least give you one line from each one.

Debbie Lindell  She is the reason there even was this conference. I am once again amazed at what God can go when ONE person obeys his calling. God has used her and her husband to grow the big ministry of James River Assembly. There is a second conference at James River South Campus next weekend!  Debbie spoke to us abut Mary, the mother of Jesus, how she believed when the angel told her about the great purpose for which she was chosen.

Debbie also gave each one of us her new book She Believes. You can order your own copy on Amazon.

Darlene Zschech talked about The Art of Soaring. Isaiah 40:37-41. To wait on the Lord with expectation

Bianca Olthopp used the Bible text John 11 and spoke about Mary and Martha and their experience of the death and resurrection of their brother. Many times we don’t know the WHY in a situation, but we must know the WHO.

Sheila Walsh spoke about How to Fight. Know who your enemy is and know who your God is. Put on the armor of God — Ephesians 6:10-18.

Christine Caine could not be with us in person because her mother just went to be with the Lord. But she recorded a message. What a good message! More than LOOK we need to SEE the situation around us, the hurting people. People are not an inconvenience or an interruption. We need to have the COMPASSION  of Jesus. We need to shine our light in the darkness. FIND DARKNESS and take the light of Jesus!

conference-floor

Amazing to be surrounded by so many women seeking more of Jesus!

This has been my surprise this week. And to think I have had the privilege of making another person happy! Janet enjoyed it very much. Now I’m singing up with Early-Bird price for next year! I have to get over my Swedish way of thinking and accept how things are in America. After all, I am an American! A Swedish (Peruvian) American!

I praise the Lord for moving into my “conservative” world and opening for me this opportunity to worship with a host of enthusiastic women!

Thanks to all the “boys” that helped! Especially the worship team!

God bless Debbie Lindell to continue listening to God’s voice and obeying Him!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in For Women and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

