Celebrating my Best Friend

October 15th is my precious Brianna’s birthday. It’s been a very stressful week. To get to finish it off with my BFF is a silver lining. She is not my only best friend I must add. Her little sister read the title and said, “I thought I was your best friend.” I’m so glad my granddaughters consider me their best friend!

Brianna was three years old when she asked if we could be BFF’s. Now this precious girl is 12 years old! While I’m writing she is having a sleep-over with her friends. Tomorrow we are going to Tulsa for a celebration. If I get some good pictures I’ll share them.

My precious assistant Cristina came to my aid and made a birthday card. I have been so busy and stressed I forgot to ask her about it. What a surprise when I opened my computer and found this card. She knew I wanted to have a special card for Brianna!

briana-hb-12What is the stress about? I’ve had to add one more thing to my list of ailments. I was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes! It’s embarrassing! But the doctor said it’s not my fault. I think it is my fault. I sit all day at the computer. I don’t exercise enough. I’ve known for several years that I was borderline. I should have taken more action. Now I have to fight it!

Guess what the worst part is? That I have to give up chocolate? No! I’m going to miss my potatoes! I’ll have to substitute with cauliflower. Mashed cauliflower is very good.

If you have any good suggestions for me, I’m all ears.

Let me tell you how things played out this week. I’ve had bad luck (i hate to use the word luck) with doctors lately. My good doctor that I had for several years quit. The office I went to provided another doctor. Then, from one day to another, she quit. I was provided with another doctor. She quit after a few months. Then the office could not provide another doctor.

It was not easy to find another doctor, because it had to be one within the system my insurance accepts. I finally got an appointment with yet another doctor, but I had to wait three months. Surprise, surprise! This doctor gave me the “good news” that she was quitting! I was now at the office for senior citizens. This was in May. They were going to bring in another doctor, but I did not get an appointment until September. Because of my nephew’s wedding I had to postpone the visit another month.

I’m sure that if I had been under regular doctor supervision I’d be in better shape. When I saw my new doctor on Tuesday I asked her to order lab work. I’m sure glad I did! I haven’t been feeling well for a long time, so I suspected something was wrong.

My mother had diabetes. I knew I was at risk. I walked by my stationary bike too many time without riding on it! Maybe I ate too many potatoes! Done is done! Now comes the fight!

Saturday the 15th is Brianna’s day. I’ll forget my “troubles” and enjoy this girl. She has her own battles. She has to do gluten-free and lactose-free. I told her that next year, when she makes me a cake (she likes to make the cake for my birthday), it will have to be gluten-free, lactose-free and sugar-free! Lots of “free” stuff! Who doesn’t like “free?”

Remember the conference I went to last week? There is a second conference going on, this time at James River Church. I’ve almost finished the book SHE BELIEVES that Pastor Debbie Lindell gave us. I recommend it!

Back to my precious girl. For three years I went to Sweden to celebrate my Father. She was so sad that I wasn’t here for her birthday, so I promised that this year would be different.

This is a smart girl. She is on the Academic Team at her school competing with seventh graders  and eight graders. My grandmother-heart swells with pride.

What more can I say? Just a BIG “Happy Birthday” to my Best Friend! (In a few months another birthday will come along. Then I will also celebrate a Best Friend.)

The best thing I can wish for Brianna is God’s blessings. My BFF, may you have a life overflowing with Love, Grace and Mercy from our Father in Heaven! There is nothing more important I can wish for you!

Happy Birthday, Brianna!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Celebrating my Best Friend

  1. ncrowson says:

    A belated Happy Birthday, Brianna! Hope your birthday was awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

