Outdoing Others in Showing Honor

There is an expression in my birth country of Sweden about the “Royal Swedish Envy.” I haven’t lived there for over thirty years. Has it really been that long? As we say, time flies! Bur I remember hearing that expression quite often.

People envy each other. If someone receives a blessing, instead of rejoicing with the person we get a sour expression on our face. Hopefully it’s only on the face and that it doesn’t get into the soul.

I don’t know about you, but I have to work on overcoming the “Royal Swedish Envy.” It wants to creep into my heart when I see my friends that still have their second half with them, especially those that travel and do missions together. My late husband’s and my dream was that when I retired from active duty with the publishing company where I worked, we would travel together and do teaching seminars.

It is not only my husband’s passing that impedes the dream to come true, but my physical condition. That is where Envy wants to pop up its ugly face. I so much wish I could move around like I used to. But then i remind myself that I’m not the only one in that condition. And I thank God that I still have feet. How many of our Veterans, young men that have fought to defend our freedoms, haven’t come home without legs!

We can always find people who are in our situation or even worse. Envy needs to be kicked off the stage forever. There is an antidote to Envy. I call it Generosity.

envy-or-generosityA tranquil heart gives life to the flesh,
but envy makes the bones rot.
Proverbs 14:30 ESV

Whoever brings blessing will be enriched,
and one who waters will himself be watered.
Proverbs 11:25 ESV

Here are some good antidotes given to the church in Rome by the Apostle Paul:

Let love be genuine.
Abhor what is evil; hold fast to what is good.

10 Love one another with brotherly affection.
Outdo one another in showing honor.

11 Do not be slothful in zeal, be fervent in spirit, serve the Lord.
12 Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.
13 Contribute to the needs of the saints and seek to show hospitality.
14 Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse them.

15 Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep.
16 Live in harmony with one another. Romans 12:9-16 ESV

Dis you see what I underlined? Outdo one another in showing honor.” I think that’s our best weapon to defeat Envy. If we are busy showing honor to our neighbor there will be no time to sit down and pamper Envy.

Why am I writing this? I guess because that has been the message I’ve lived with the past week. The story I worked on was about a girl who was “dying of envy.” But she found the cure! Envy is a disease of the heart. She turned to the One who came to heal the brokenhearted. Jesus healed her heart. Find the story and the helps to go with it HERE.

To get stories for children, remember http://MX1414.wordpress.com

This week we celebrate THANKSGIVING in the United States. What a grand opportunity to be generous! When I was thinking of an application to the story, GENEROSITY was at the top of the list. In being generous to our neighbors we show thankfulness to our Creator. God is the source of everything. He owns the Universe! We are his administrators.

How much did you bring when you came? I thought so! N-O-T-H-I-N-G!
How much will you take with you when you leave? N-O-T-H-I-N-G!

Sure, you might leave some behind. But it was all a loan!

Here is a catch! There is a bank where you can store treasures. Nobody robs that bank! Listen to what Jesus said.

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal.” Matthew 6:19,20

Let’s be generous! The “Royal Swedish Envy” is nothing to strive for. There are a lot of good things in Sweden. It is a country that has taken in many refugees. I know a lot of good people there. Most of my extended family lives in Sweden. I am a product of Sweden!

Today and forever, I want to be generous and kick Envy out of the door.

Let’s make this Thanksgiving week a happy and generous week.

Let’s open our hands and hearts to those around us. Let’s rejoice with those who rejoice, and weep with those who weep.

Let’s outdo each other in showing honor!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Generosity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

