Miracle story of the Week

During my missionary life God has provided houses in miraculous ways.

I will have to write a story about each one; but here is a list of a few, from 1976:

  • Rosvilla, a house given to my parents in Sweden
  • The house in Bolivia one block from the girl’s school
  • A townhouse rental when we came to the USA
  • A little house by a lake in Fort Lauderdale
  • A rental in Pompano Beach close to where I worked
  • An amazing rental in Colorado Springs next door to former co-workers from Florida
  • A house in Springfield when I had no money for down-payment
  • A buyer for the house and finding a perfect rental at the Abby
  • Purchase of Thom and Carina’s house
  • Having a room built in Fort Gibson but not selling my house in Springfield
  • Moving back to my house Springfield

Plans for moving once again to Fort Gibson

For quite some time I had been thinking about moving. Time and again the girls (my granddaughters) would say how they wanted me to live close by. I looked around and nothing appealed to me.

When I visited for Brianna’s 12th birthday, I saw it!

The “For Sale” sign! A block away from where they live! I thought that would be perfect. But I soon realized that the lot was too big for me to take care of and that I needed to be in town. But it was the nudge I needed to get busy with my planning.

This is what’s going to happen when I move there and David starts High School. I can’t believe it’s already time for that! Thom will drop David off at my house in the morning when he goes to work, then David will ride the bus to school and back to me in the afternoon. When his dad is on his way home from work, he picks him up. Sounds like a good plan, don’t you think? It will be awesome to have David come to see me every weekday! Almost too good to be true!

So, my search for a house in the town of Fort Gibson started the day after Thanksgiving, that is November 25. Brianna went with me. The three houses we looked at all cost more than what I pay in Springfield, but none of them were something I would like to pay money for.

Because David and Brianna would be in competitions the coming Thursday and because the parents wanted baby-sitting on Saturday I decided to go back to Fort Gibson.

In between, while I was home a couple of days, the Lord sent buyers for my house. Tuesday some people came that seemed very interested. Wednesday I had to go to Walmart to do my regular payments to my workers and get an oil-change on my car. I planned to go early because it was going to be very cold in the evening.

Low and behold, guess what? I fell asleep at my computer in the middle of the day. Somewhat after one pm I woke up. Nothing to do about that. Looking back, I think the Lord ordered that I should go to sleep, otherwise I would not have been home when my “buyers” came by. They had not been able to get in contact with my agent to set up a time for another viewing. But I was home.

The people had some friends with them and did a thorough checking of the house. That is something I have not been able to do on the house I’m buying, but I’m sure it’s going to be okay.

Thursday morning my agent came with the good news that I had an offer on the house. We went through the paper-work and countered on the offer. Then off I went to Fort Gibson and barely made it on time for the kid’s competition (in academics). David’s class won a medal!

On my way over, the Lord spoke to me about being willing to look for a house at the top range of what I had been qualified for. I forgot to say that as soon as I started looking for a house I contacted a bank to be qualified for a loan. So, I called my agent and told her to broaden the search.

Fort Gibson is an historic town with a population of a little more than 4,000. There is not so much to choose from in real estate. Friday afternoon I went with her, together with my daughter and grandkids, to look at two (2) houses. That was it! I fell in love with the first one. It was like it was built for me! That afternoon, after looking at both houses, my agent in Springfield called and said the buyers had accepted my counter offer. Then with my agent in Oklahoma we decided to write up an offer on the house in Fort Gibson. We would meet Saturday afternoon.

David had a trip to Seymour, where he competed. The parents being away I had to pick him up in Muskogee. Can you believe, it coincided perfectly with the time I was to meet my agent. David and the girls went with me and we wrote up an offer on the house, offering $5000 less than asking price. Sunday the sellers accepted the offer!

So, here I am now, writing this on Monday afternoon (December 5), not even a week after the buyers of my house came by the first time! Everything up to now has been as if someone had sat down to write a schedule. Maybe an angel did! I’m sure my Heavenly Father has assigned someone to work on my behalf, to answer my prayers.

If I had not stepped out in faith, obeying the prompting of the Lord to go to a higher priced house, I wouldn’t be writing this. Now I am excited beyond excited to see how everything is going to work out. All the glory to my Father in heaven. I’ve been praying hard. I specifically asked God that I would not have to spend another winter alone in Springfield. Now I will be moving in the middle of winter, so I need to pray for good weather for the move!

This is my miracle story of the week. You are probably curious about the house. The people living there now must like Christmas decorations a lot because the yard is full of them. Anyway, have a peek at God’s provision for one of his many widows. He is my Protector and Defender. I have claimed that ever since my husband died.

Father of the fatherless and protector of widows is God in his holy habitation. Psalm 68:5 ESV

“The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to be silent [or: be still].” Exodus 14:14 ESV

God is our refuge and strength. Trust him! Put your life in his loving care. Nothing compares to having the Creator of the Universe as your Father and Lord!

I will keep you updated on this miracle!

the-houseWaiting for me in Fort Gibson!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

