The Greatest Christmas Message

Last week there was a reception for retirees at the Assemblies of God Headquarters where I used to work. A big surprise was that we got to take a picture with our Superintendent, Dr. George O. Wood. That was a great Christmas gift for me!

kerstin-and-dr-woodThis will be my last Christmas in Springfield. I have never lived any place as long as here. If I stayed two more years I could boast of living 20 years in Springfield, Missouri.

Now the move is upon me. I decided for a visual countdown. I have used a measuring tape once before. That was in Peru when I was a young missionary in love waiting for my Prince to come. That time I counted with centimeters.

countdown-2016I will cut one inch a day! Today I have 34 inches to go!

It’s exciting to look forward to a new home! There is a lot of work to be done, too!

More than looking forward to my move to Fort Gibson, I’m looking forward to my home in heaven. Jesus, my Savior has promised to prepare a place for me. I hope it will be a place with lots of books and an ultra-modern computer!

The last few days I’ve been reading about people who met Jesus, and looking into the difference it made in their lives. I might share the study later on, but for now I’ll concentrate on my final observation.

Apart from Mary and Joseph, who were the first ones to see Jesus? It was the shepherds, tending to their flocks outside of Bethlehem. I’ve written a story about it. See: http://MX1414.wordpress.com

The shepherds received the good news that Jesus had come. They had long waited for the Messiah, and he had arrived!

 And the angel said to them, “Fear not, for behold, I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people. 11 For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord. 12 And this will be a sign for you: you will find a baby wrapped in swaddling cloths and lying in a manger.” 13 And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God and saying,

14 “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace among those with whom he is pleased!”

15 When the angels went away from them into heaven, the shepherds said to one another, “Let us go over to Bethlehem and see this thing that has happened, which the Lord has made known to us.” 16 And they went with haste and found Mary and Joseph, and the baby lying in a manger. 17 And when they saw it, they made known the saying that had been told them concerning this child. 18 And all who heard it wondered at what the shepherds told them. Luke 2:10-18

Who was the last one in Bible-times to see Jesus? Probably John, on the isle of Patmos, when he received revelation about things to come. Jesus had a final message for him and for us. Three times he repeated it!

  1. “And behold, I am coming soon. Blessed is the one who keeps the words of the prophecy of this book.”
  2. “Behold, I am coming soon, bringing my recompense with me, to repay each one for what he has done. 13 I am the Alpha and the Omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end.”
  3. He who testifies to these things says, “Surely I am coming soon.” Amen. Come, Lord Jesus! Revelation 22:7, 12, 20

This is the greatest Christmas message! Jesus is coming to take us home!

As we celebrate that he came as a child, born to earthly parents, we celebrate that he was born to live as one of us and then give his life to redeem us from sin and its eternal fatal consequences.

The Child that came
is the King who will come!

As I cut an inch from my measuring tape every day this Christmas Season, and look forward to my new home in Fort Gibson, I will praise God for the hope of an eternal home with God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit.

If you do not have this hope, I will be happy to explain to you about God’s provision for us to be welcomed as a citizen of heaven. Drop me a comment and I will email you.

The great message of the ages:

Jesus is coming soon!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Jesus return and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

