A “Shapes Up” Christmas

Last time I wrote was at midnight before Christmas Eve. I was expecting visitors from Mexico. When I talked to my brother, he said, “Do you mean they came all the way from Mexico to see you?” Isn’t it amazing!

Here is the beautiful Pilar and her cute daughter Mildred. She convinced her husband to drive all the way from Baja California to Springfield, Missouri. She had “found” me through the internet in 2014 and has been using my lessons in Sunday school ever since. We connected and made friends. The only way for us to meet was for them to come here.

kerstin-w-pilarPicture taken at a Hispanic church we visited

Mildred, the little girl, took a liking to me immediately. She had learned in Sunday school that I was a missionary. You might remember that they had chosen me as their missionary. She has been walking around saying, “You are a missionary!” In the mornings, when everyone else was still sleeping, she came in to be with me. And we prayed together! How I love little kids!

On Christmas Eve I invited them Swedish meatballs. That probably doesn’t sound very Christmas-like but I had to show-off something Swedish, from my roots.Then there has been no more cooking on my part!

The kids had a blast! They used up all the floor space to set up their games. It was like the good old times when my grandchildren were small and did the same thing.

One thing we’ll remember from our Christmas together is a game that matched all the personalities perfectly. Have you played Shapes Up? It turned out to be so much fun!

shapes-1Shapes Up is a game to fill a board with shapes. You get them by rolling a dice. The fun part is that on one side of the dice is a hand, which means you can steal from your opponents. That really hit home with the kids!

shaper-pilar-and-mildredMom Pilar and daughter Mildred played as a team

shapes-gameThe trick is that you can’t let the colors touch
other than in the corners

shapes-abrahamHere is Abraham working hard on his Shape Up puzzle!

shapes-kerstinHere I am missing only one piece to win, but it can take
a while to acquire that piece,
depending on how you roll the dice.

shapesI’m sitting here remembering Christmases past, when my energy level was at its peak. I entertained and I loved it. How am I managing with visitors now? There is only one way to do it. I turned the kitchen over to Pilar. They have a different schedule than I’m used to. The kids are picky with new food in a strange country. So that works out just fine.

Here is something surprising. I have a dishwasher. Everybody I know is happy to load the dishwasher and let it do the job. Pilar asked me if she could please wash the dishes by hand, because she likes it. So we use the dishwasher racks to put the dishes in for drying.

I can’t believe somebody would willingly wash the dishes instead of using the dishwasher. I told Pilar that if that makes her happy, she’s welcome to do it.

kerstin-xmas-2016I look at this picture and I see my mother. It’s me with the presents. A Mexican hat, a beautiful shawl,  and a colorful ceramic teapot.

Tomorrow they are going to help me pack. Pilar’s husband has delayed the trip home one day because he wants to help. He wants to do a complete checking of my car, he is going to fix my bike, he has washed windows…

That’s the kind of visitors I’ve had this Christmas.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

