The Excitement of a Child Author

My granddaughter Sarah (8) loves to write stories. And she loves to draw pictures. Some time ago she told me she wanted to be my illustrator. I took hold of that and wrote it in the front of one of my journals. Then, one day, she said that wasn’t right. because she is also an author.

Today we “published” her first book!

Sarah has been talking about this for weeks, on how exciting it would be to turn into a published author. First she wrote a story. Then she illustrated the story. It was up to me to make her dream come true!

Sarah and her brother David spent the day with me. So, I decided to help her do the book. She never thought it would be such a dragged out process. Let me tell you the steps and you might think the same.

1 I printed the story in a Word document. Sarah divided it by sections. She circled and numbered them. Each section was to be a page in the book.

2 Sarah had worked before on the illustrations. Now she numbered them and I scanned them.

3 Then we made a mock-up. The Word document was cut into pieces to fit on the pages. We did the same with the pictures. Then I numbered each page.

4 I work using inDesign. I opened a new document and made a template for the book.

5 The text and the pictures were fitted on the pages. By this time Sarah started to get bored. This part was not so much fun, but it had to be done.

6 Then came the printing. Sarah proofread the first copy and corrected it.

7 The final step was to print some copies. I did not humor her by printing a copy for each of the children in her class, but we printed books for her parents and her teachers.

Working on the book

An excited author and illustrator

Sarah was concerned about how to get the book to bookstores. I told her this was a “self-published” book. She has to be her own Agent! So we decided on a price. David agreed with us that $2.00 would be a good price. I told Sarah that when she gets orders I’ll print the needed copies.

Since I can’t sell you the book through this blog, why don’t I offer you a book for free?

Welcome to print Sarah’s book: Sarahs first book

You can open the PDF file and read the story. Just follow the numbering. The story starts on page 5.

Greetings from a grandmother that had a fun day!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Excitement of a Child Author

  1. Phillip Torgrimson says:

    May God richly bless you and yours!

Leave a Reply

