Remembering my Precious Baby

Today, March 27, 47 years ago, my Baby came to the world. I became a mother! It was a dream come true! I wanted to be a mother!

This is one of my favorite pictures of her. She was so tiny and frail. As an inexperienced mother, I thought all babies were that way. Not until she was three years old did we find out the reason for all her problems. My precious Baby had cystic fibrosis.

We were missionaries in the Andes of Peru. Cystic fibrosis was nothing the doctors there had to deal with. Their “diagnosis” was pointed to me, that I was a bad mother and didn’t take good care of my precious jewel. When we went to Sweden for a year she was diagnosed, thanks to my sister Ingrid who at that time was studying to be a doctor. She wrote a referral to a hospital and she was tested and got a diagnosis. (I wasn’t such a bad mother!)

You can read about it here: The battle with cystic fibrosis

When I think of my Baby, Eva-Marie, the Apostle Paul’s words to the Romans comes to mind, about being patient in affliction. See Romans 12:12. Cystic fibrosis brings with it many “afflictions,” one of them I am dealing with now–diabetes. She was so patient!

Cystic fibrosis affects the lungs. The mucus gets hard and needs to be moved around. Eva-Marie had to learn to cough in set intervals to help with this. She also had to be pounded on her back, or vibrated with a machine, like this respiratory therapist is doing here. This is one of the many people who came to our home to assist with her care.

This therapist is Joan, and we have kept in touch ever since. I look forward to every Christmas to receiving a letter and a picture. Life has quickly moved on, and her children are now married. This picture was taken in 1993!

I’ve dressed up today. Maybe no one is going to see me, except Cristina in Peru when we work together through Skype. But I wanted this day to feel special. My Baby was promoted to her heavenly home on December 13, 2001. It’s been a lot of years without her. I sometimes let my mind wonder how it would have been if Eva-Marie were healthy, had been married and had children… But I had another Baby, and if you read my blogs you know about her and her children, who are the loves of my life.

A few years ago I wrote an ABC about Patience in Affliction. I found it in my files and it made me remember how patient Eva-Marie was in the midst of all the treatments and hospital visits and home health care and shots and dealings with diabetes and fibromialgia and asthma and Meiners and … the list goes on!

Here is a PDF file for you: ABC patient in affliction

May this day bring you the blessings you need in your life. Be “joyful in HOPE, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer” (Romans 12:12).

Make this a good day!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

