Don’t be Fooled

April Fools’ Day! I once played a very bad joke on my dear late husband. I cannot to this day understand how I could be so cruel to him. I guess it was my youth and inexperience that did it.

My husband was unemployed, in a season of his life when ministry opportunities were far from him. We were living in Villands Vånga, Sweden at the time. There was a church in a nearby town that had no pastor. I think he had even gone there a few times to preach. I cannot believe I could play such an awful joke on him. But I told him I had just found out that the church was going to call him as their pastor. Oh, the excitement on his face! And then the horrible letdown when I told him it was just an April Fools’ joke.

I was a fool to do that to him! I never again want to make one of those jokes. I guess, by now, I’m too old to be playing jokes!

April Fools’ Day! As I thought of that this morning the Holy Spirit brought to mind what the Word of God says about fools. King David wrote about it in two Psalms: 14 & 53.

The fool says in his heart, “There is no God.”

I can testify with 100% certainty that there is a God. After seven decades of a personal relationship with the Creator of the Universe, I cannot for one moment doubt his existence. He is a caring Father, a faithful Friend, a loving Savior.

How do I know God. Because I was introduced to him even from birth. I had the privilege to be born to Christian parents. I feel so grateful I don’t have words to express it.

Does that mean that my life has been a walk on a path of roses? Certainly not! Life is a struggle, like most of us can attest to. But to have a caring, faithful and loving Father to walk by your side makes all the difference.

Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
    I have called you by name, you are mine.
2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
    and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you;
when you walk through fire you shall not be burned,
    and the flame shall not consume you.
For I am the Lord your God,
    the Holy One of Israel, your Savior. Isaiah 43:1-3 ESV

This is a promise that has held true over the years. I wish for no 0ne to be a “fool” and not acknowledge that there is a Supreme Being, a Creator and Sustainer of the Universe. Just think of the stars, the immensity of the galaxies.

Have you ever gazed into the skies, trying to count the stars? Astronomers, scientists who study the stars, say there are more stars in the universe than the sand on the seashore. There are between 100 and 200 sets of stars and planets called galaxies. In every galaxy there are hundreds of billions of stars.

Hear this amazing news. Each star has a name!

He determines the number of the stars;
he gives to all of them their names. Psalm 147:4

Another good news:

 Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? And not one of them will fall to
the ground apart from your Father.
But even the hairs of your head
are all numbered.
Matthew 10:29,30

Jesus said these words. I’m sure he wanted us to know how detailed God’s love and care is for us. No wonder King David wrote a song about how foolish it is to say that there is no God. Everything in the universe points to the Creator.

April Fools’ Day! Don’t be fooled. There are many things we don’t understand. And many people use this argument: “How can a loving God (a sad life experience) …?” God is an eternal being, HE IS… like he said his name is: “I AM.” If we understood everything we would be God! He sees things from the eternal perspective.

I just heard about somebody that was complaining  to God about a loved one who had passed away, seemingly too “early.” That was his opinion! God said to that person, “Why are you complaining? She is fine! She is resting!” That’s exactly how the Bible describes death, that we will be resting from our labor!

April Fools’ Day! Don’t be fooled into living as if this life was the only existence. There is an afterlife. There are two destinations. Jesus came to open the way to the Father. He IS the Way. No one comes to the Father, but by him.

On this April Fools’ Day, open your heart to the love of God. Nothing compares to living in fellowship with him.

April Fools’ Day! I’m not fooling you.

God is the best thing that can happen to you!


About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in God and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t be Fooled

  1. Joke says:

    Tack Kerstin, for allt du skriver! Gud välsigne dig!

Leave a Reply

