Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

I will give thanks to you because I have been so amazingly and miraculously made. Your works are miraculous, and my soul is fully aware of this. Psalm 139:14 GW

I praise you because of the wonderful way you created me. Everything you do is marvelous! Of this I have no doubt. CEV

The conversation between two little babies in the womb might be a stretch of the imagination (see previous blog), but the wonderful and intricate way in which we are formed is incredible and true. We are here! We were born! There is life after the womb!

When I was formed in my mother’s womb she had complications. The last month of the pregnancy Mom  had to spend in the hospital because her albuminuria had increased alarmingly. It wasn’t fun for her because no visits were allowed due to epidemic influenza. She didn’t see my father for several weeks.

I had to listen to what other mothers told about earlier deliveries. One night the measure of sorrow was filled and I went to the bathroom to cry. I had seen twelve mothers leave with their newborn babies before it became my turn. That night a nasty midwife was on duty. She was the horror of the maternity ward. I asked God not to let me give birth during the night. I knew that another midwife who was a Christian would come in the morning. She came at seven and I got a feeling of security. Two hours later I was holding a little bundle in my arms. Such a nice little girl! So very cute! (from the book A Life of Adventure)

When I made my entrance to the world the delivery was critical because of my mother’s increased percentage of albumin. It was so high the doctor told her to have patience because she might have to stay a long time in the hospital. But a miracle took place and she could leave after only a week. The percentage was normal!

My first home was in a small town called Hjortkvarn, where Dad was serving as a minister in the Filadelfia church. They lived in a tiny one-room apartment above the sanctuary. “Tiny” is the key word! I visited there as a young girl and I could not imagine how the little family of three fitted there.

Daughter Eva-Marie singing at the church in Hjortkvarn

It was winter and cold when I was born. Mom tells me that Dad would rise early, light a fire in the stove that heated the room, change my diapers, wrap me in a blanket, and bring me joyfully to Mom so I could have my morning meal. “Here comes the package!” he would declare.

When fall came, my precious grandmother Signe took care of me so Mom and Dad could go to Bible School in Stockholm, in preparation for their life as missionaries.

I have been reflecting a lot lately on the wonders of life, the miraculous way we are woven together in out mother’s womb. For sure there is a Creator that has thought out every little detail. See this here . Yes, I meant the dot! That was my beginning! Yours too! In that little seed was everything needed to start the marvel of a new life, of a unique creature, given all the possibilities to conquer the world!

What a privilege to have received life! That cozy environment where I spent my first nine months, was just a cozy, warm place to prepare for what was to come, just as my walk on earth is a time to prepare for the next phase.

Here it gets very important! God made us to have fellowship with him. We’ll talk about the in a later blog. Due to our first father’s disobedience, the fellowship was severed, but Jesus came to bring us back into fellowship with our Creator and Father.

We make the choice! Just as there is life after the womb, there is life after this world. We are eternal beings and we decide where we want to spend eternity. Through Jesus, God invites us to spend it with him!

He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also, he has put eternity into man’s heart, yet so that he cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end. Ecclesiastes 3:11

I can’t begin to express my thankfulness for getting to know God as my Father from those first days, spent in that tiny room above the sanctuary in Hjortkvarn, and later the time spent with grandma Signe. My life was conditioned in the perfect direction! There aren’t enough words to say Thanks!

Thousands of years back, King David, the second king of the nation of Israel, reflected like this on the marvel of God’s creation of man (and woman):

For you formed my inward parts;
    you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
Wonderful are your works;
    my soul knows it very well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
    intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
    the days that were formed for me,
    when as yet there was none of them.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts, O God!

    How vast is the sum of them!
18 If I would count them, they are more than the sand.
    I awake, and I am still with you. Psalm 139:13-18

Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out; you formed me in my mother’s womb. I thank you, High God—you’re breathtaking! Body and soul, I am marvelously made! I worship in adoration—what a creation! You know me inside and out, you know every bone in my body; You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit, how I was sculpted from nothing into something. Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth; all the stages of my life were spread out before you, the days of my life all prepared before I’d even lived one day.  (The Message)

Here is the account from Genesis:

Then God said, “Let us make man[a] in our image, after our likeness. And let them have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over the livestock and over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.”

27 So God created man in his own image,
in the image of God he created him;
male and female he created them. Genesis 1:26,27

The Lord God formed the man of dust from the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living creature. And the Lord God planted a garden in Eden, in the east, and there he put the man whom he had formed. Genesis 2:7,8

 So the Lord God caused a deep sleep to fall upon the man, and while he slept took one of his ribs and closed up its place with flesh. 22 And the rib that the Lord God had taken from the man he made[a] into a woman and brought her to the man. 23 Then the man said,

“This at last is bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh;
she shall be called Woman, because she was taken out of Man. Genesis 2:21-23

We are eternal beings. We have a Creator. We are purposed to have a wonderful and successful life. How do I know? Because God made “everything beautiful in its time.” There is no end to the wonders of creation!

The choice is ours. King David ended his reflections of the miracles of life with this prayer. And that how I’ll end my reflections today, too.

Search me, O God, and know my heart!
    Try me and know my thoughts!
And see if there be any grievous way in me,
    and lead me in the way everlasting! Psalm 139:23,24

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Life and eternity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

