A Heart for Missions 2

“Corazón misionero” is Spanish for A Heart for Missions. That’s practically what my life has been. At age 10 I had a vision of Jesus and the beautiful olive-skinned children he called me to go tell about Him. Ever since, it’s been my passion to reach children with the Gospel of Jesus. Gospel means Good News.

The Good News is that Jesus left his beautiful home in heaven to “dress” himself as a human, live with us for 33 years, and then die on the cross taking on himself all our iniquities, bearing our punishment, so that we could be set free and enjoy fellowship with him forever. But he is not dead! Jesus rose again and he lives. We have a risen Savior!

This week I have been consumed with this subject. One of the Sunday school teachers that has come to know me through my Spanish page hermanamargarita.com has written five lessons to teach children about missions. My assistants Cristina and Absalom have contributed with illustrations, Cristina and I have worked on activities, and finally we are reaching the finish line.

I realize I have written about this some before, so I put a 2 in the title. Who knows? There might be a 3 later on! See A Heart for Missions

You might remember that I had visitors from Mexico for Christmas. Pilar, the Mom, is the one who wrote the lessons. The teachers chose to use me as their mission project. Here is Pilar showing my picture. It’s humbling! All I can do is thank God and continue my mission. Let me show you a summary of the lessons.

KNOW Learn what a missionary is. Get to know the great missionary Paul.

PRAY Paul asked the churches for prayer. Pray for missionaries.

GIVE Learn the needs of missionaries, and give offerings. The church in Philippi sent love-offerings to Paul.

SEND The Holy Spirit calls and sends missionaries. Paul and Barnabas were sent out from the church in Antioch.

GO Paul invites Timothy to go with him on his missionary journeys. Be willing to GO and tell the Good News!

What would I do without my faithful artist Absalom? There would be no pictures for my stories! Teachers and children love his art.

Paul is imprisoned because of preaching the Gospel. In spite of his suffering he writes a Gospel of Joy to the church in Philippi. They showed their concern for him and sent Epaphroditus with a love-offering.

On Monday is Labor Day in Peru, so Cristina will have a day off. I will be remembering a very special day in my life. Wait and see!

Now it is “end of the month” and that means I need to get out. Go to Walmart and send some “Moneygrams.” One more month the Lord has provided for me so I can keep my artists. I do translations to help with this ministry. Like the church in Philippi cared for Paul’s financial needs, there is a church in Sweden that sends me a gift each month so I can cover some of my expenses. Praise the Lord! And my pen-pal, that I have had for more than 50 years, also sends an offering, and one more individual, who always marks the deposit: for your vision.

My vision is to always keep a heart for missions alive!

“See” you on Monday! Have a wonderful weekend!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Missions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

