Friday Afternoon Miracle

As you know from my previous blog, Friday afternoon  I had to be on my way to do my monthly MoneyGram’s. I go to Walmart and there is always the fighting “end of the month crowd,” especially on a weekend.

When I got in the car I prayed to the Lord to help me find a parking spot and an electric shopping cart. I live in Fort Gibson and Walmart is in Muskogee, so when I drive over there I want to make good use of my time and do some shopping for special things I like to eat. Because of the diabetes, I have had to cut down considerably on the variety of products I get, but what God gave to our first parents as food is no problem to eat. Vegetables are perfect, and this Friday I found a winner.

Before I show you the winner, let me tell you how God answered my prayer for a parking spot and an electric shopping cart. As I’m driving along, I’m thinking of someone very dear to me who is fighting a hard battle with cancer. My thinking turns to prayers. I get so involved in praying that I drive mechanically. Before I know it, I am at the mall. The mall? That’s not where I was going. Walmart is in the opposite direction! So, I turn around and head in the right direction.

Again, I whisper a prayer for a parking spot. Preferably, it must be close to the Pharmacy entrance, because right by it is the banking center.

Low and behold! As usual, one after another of the handicap spots are taken. Then, right in front of the Pharmacy entrance, there is an open spot and an electric shopping cart! What a welcome sight! It was an awesome sight on a busy Friday afternoon.

I parked the car and took the shopping cart. It was almost out of charge, put I plugged it in at the banking center while I did my transactions, sending money to Costa Rica, Peru, and Bolivia. The lady who assisted me was surprised that I knew people in so many countries. I have lived in six different countries, so that was just half of it. No big deal for me.

After doing the transactions I sat down in the chair waiting for it to get charged. I had a copy of Guideposts so I read some stories. In one of them, a lady was on her way to a wedding, but she was late, so she hurried. She stopped at a drug store to get a present for the couple. The cashier knocked down some pencils and had to pick them up before ringing up the purchase. That delay saved the author from being in the middle of a severe accident.

Timing! A delay because of some pencils saved a life from a sure accident.

Timing! My “detour” brought me to Walmart at the exact time to find a parking spot and the electric shopping cart I needed to do my shopping. Some might call it coincidence. I call it an answer to my prayers. It was a God-wink. That’s why I’m taking the time to tell about it.

The shopping experience was chaotic, with shoppers everywhere. Here is my “find” for the day! You have to love artichokes to understand my excitement.

This is a meal that ends up being bigger when you finish. You pull the leaves, dip them is some sauce (a mixture of ketchup and mayonnaise is delicious, especially if it is jalapeño ketchup). You work your way to the heart. There is the good stuff.

The heart! Not only artichokes are best when you get to the heart. You know, that’s the way it is with people. If you can get to the heart of someone, you’ve reached the treasure point.

I’m a preacher, so I find messages in all circumstances. Now my mind is working on lessons to learn about the heart.

God asks for the heart: “Dame, hijo mío, tu corazón.” In English: “My son, give me your heart and let your eyes observe my ways” (Proverbs 23:26).

“Sobre toda cosa guardada, guarda tu corazón, porque de él mana la vida.” In English: “Keep your heart with all vigilance, for from it flow the springs of life” (Proverbs 4:23).

I know these verses by heart, but in Spanish. That’s why I wrote them in Spanish. Do you know that Spanish is the language of the heart? At least that is what they say about it. Spanish is a very romantic language!

There are hundreds of references to the heart in the Bible.

“[God] has made everything beautiful in its time. Also, he has put eternity into man’s heart.” Ecclesiastes 3:11

Some of my favorite verses, that have been a guiding star for me, are King Solomon’s words of wisdom:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
    and do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge him,
    and he will make straight your paths. Proverbs 3:5,6

This is what my heart was reflecting on yesterday. We had stormy weather so my internet connection was down. The rain has continued but by now it has stopped for a while. I have gotten a good taste of the Oklahoma storms!

In Florida, my missionary friend Monroe Grams celebrates his 90th birthday. There, the sun is shining. After all, it is the Sunshine State! May God bless Monroe and each one of us with many more sunny days.

I can still see the empty parking space with the electric shopping cart sitting there waiting for me. It sure was a God-wink.

God is so good! When we most need it, he winks at us.

May you have many God-winks, today and every day.

 

Have you heard about the God-winks? Check out the web site:

http://www.whengodwinks.com/

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

