An Amazing Day of Prayer

I’m so excited, I must tell this testimony. When we serve the Lord, and look to him for guiding our steps, so many details are intertwined.

Yesterday, Thursday May 4, was National Day of Prayer. I had not remembered it but read a post on Facebook by Franklin Graham that alerted me. As usual, I had asked the Lord what story I should do for my weekly La Perlita. I had one story that had been “sitting in line” for a while, with beautiful pictures done by my artist Absalom in Costa Rica—the story of George Müller.

The great “father” for orphans

George Müller lived 200 years ago. He fostered some 10,000 children in the orphanages he established. That is amazing, but consider this: he did it all based on prayer! He never asked any person for help, only God. He would get up early each morning to pray.

I recommend you find a biography about his life. It’s amazing!

God led me to turn exactly right!

Thursdays is the day I usually don’t mess with anything by the publishing of the story. This day turned out very different. Some days ago I had sent a monetary gift to a friend in Bolivia. Since she is wheel-chair bound her son-in-law was going to help her with the transaction. I had his name as the receiver. The bank would not accept it, because both of his first names were not on the transaction, so I had to make an extra trip to Walmart in Muskogee to make this change. Since I have to get a new driver license, renew my passport, and get new tags for the car, I thought of taking advantage of the trip.

I dressed in my Sunday-best to look nice on the pictures. The license office was closed! They were having training. So, I thought I could work on the next project: renew my passport. I had asked for directions. From York, to Chandler, to Okmulgee, and then passed the mall (now, which mall?)… I asked Jesus to help me. I’m driving on Okmulgee, and then I was sure I had gone too far. I better turn around, I thought. And I did! This is the amazing part. As I am turning back, my right eye catches a sight! United Stated Postal Office. It was right in front of me! “Thank you, Jesus!” He made me turn around at the exact right time. I got help inside to get all the pieces together that I needed. It cost me US$ 131.75 (postage and photograph included).

Asking for directions again, stopping at the wrong building and getting new directions, I finally found my way to the tag office. Now I have a list of the things I need to get new license plates. So, I’ll have to make a new trip.

The special story posted on the Day of Prayer

Why am I so excited? I’m happy because of posting a story about a man who lived and breathed prayer on the Day of Prayer.

Yesterday morning, before I even connected the dots, I was reminded of Jesus promise, that if we asked for something in his name, he will do it.

“Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father. Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it. John 14:12-14

 And this is the confidence that we have toward him, that if we ask anything according to his will he hears us. And if we know that he hears us in whatever we ask, we know that we have the requests that we have asked of him. 1 John 5:14,15

George Müller knew that he was doing God’s will. God had spoken to him about opening homes for all the orphan children in Bristol, England, so he could come with confidence before the throne of God.

Milk delivered at the door for breakfast

One of the well-known testimonies is about the day when the children came to have breakfast and the tables were empty. “Let’s thank God for supplying breakfast for us,” said Müller. They prayed and there was a knock on the door. The milkman’s cart had broken down right outside the orphanage. Since he couldn’t distribute the milk he gave it to the children.

The children needed something to go with the milk. Right then the baker showed up. God had woken him up very early, urging him to bake bread for the children.

I titled my story: “Breakfast from Heaven.” That’s what it was!

A baker obeyed God for the orphan children
to have fresh bread for breakfast

God is the “Father of the fatherless”, “the helper of the fatherless”(Psalm 68:5; 10:14).

A constant fellowship with God

Yesterday was a different and wonderful day of prayer. It’s not like I was on my knees all day. Prayer is that, but it’s much more. Prayer is a relationship with the Father. What the oxygen is for your physical body, prayer is  for your spiritual life. You don’t have to think every second, “I have to breathe now!” You just do it! It’s natural! That’s how prayer works in the relationship with the Father. It’s a constant, wonderful fellowship, “breathing” your concerns for family and friends. Yesterday and today, one after another of the individuals and families that I carry on my heart have been mentioned. I have many, many to bring before the throne of God.

I prayed with Cristina, my assistant stationed in Peru, and I told her that I would be happy to be even one thousands of what that man of prayer was. He has been one of my role models as far back as I can remember. No wonder I feel like it was a wonderful day of prayer. I am overwhelmed at God leading me to put the story of George Müller on my Spanish blog on the day of prayer.

My dear friend Nancy Crowson will translate the story to English, so we will soon have it on the Royal Palm World Mission blog: MX1414.wordpress.com

Another interesting thing I just found out, is about Christian Alliance for Orphans Summit in Nashville Tennessee. I would have love to have been there. For the last few years I have been translating lessons written especially for orphans and children at risk. I feel so blessed that I could publish this special story this special week.

How interesting God’s timing is. We just have to keep tuned to Heaven!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Faith, Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Amazing Day of Prayer

  1. ximesola says:

    Qué alentadora historia la de este hombre de oración. Gracias.

  2. kelund says:

    La vida de oración de este hombre fue asombrosa.

Leave a Reply

