Stressed and Blessed

“Time flies when you’re having fun,” they say. I have also heard it said, “Too blessed to be stressed.” You can have fun doing your job, but even in the midst of “fun” one can sometimes get stressed. I’ve had stress enough for a while this week. No time for any blogging!

Sometimes we need to say NO, and maybe that is what I should have done to the project that has stressed me out. But when all is said and done, I think I will be happy that I said YES. It all has to do with a book that I formatted. I missed one step because I didn’t know about it. Cristina and I spent an entire day researching it. I, in the USA and she, in Peru. At the end of the day, when I felt like I was at the end of my rope. I thought of sending out an SOS to people on my email list. Maybe someone could help. Late in the evening, when my alarm awoke me after a cat-nap, I had an answer.

I did what was suggested in the email I got, and sent the file off to the person who had been waiting for it all day. It seems like it worked. But I will not know it until in a couple of weeks. If the solution worked, that knowledge is going to improve the files I produce. So, hopefully, it was a good thing I said YES. Even if it was stressful.

Maybe someone is wondering what my problem was. I work with inDesign and needed to know how to embed fonts. The call I made to the company I bought inDesign from –Adobe– was not helpful. Two hours of taking with the person answering my call and no solution. Even videos didn’t give a good explanation.

Life can be stressful for many different reasons. You can be sure that I did a lot of praying! The project was for a friend. I wrote to ask for forgiveness for not telling him up-front that I’m no professional book designer. He thought I had lots of experience. I do have a lot of experience from years of doing formatting work, but NOT books in particular. The answer I got refreshed my heart.

Like the prodigal son: All is forgiven, come home.
Learning experience for both of us.

It feels good to be forgiven, even when you did not hurt anyone purposefully.

Now let me tell you a totally different story that has happened since I last wrote my last blog. My assistant Cristina’s mother works as an English teacher for preschoolers in Lima, Peru. She has a very, very old laptop to do her schoolwork planning on. I have been praying especially for her lately and had the desire to get her a new laptop. But, how could I get one from Fort Gibson to Lima? God knew my desire. And He always knows the solution to every problem.

Last week Cristina asked me if I would do her a favor. Could I use my Amazon account and order a laptop for her mother. A friend of her sister was visiting Florida and had promised to take it back with her upon returning. Cristina has been saving to help her mother and surprise her. I told her of my desire and promised to pay part of it. The only thing was, would there be enough time to order it at get it delivered? It was right before the Memorial Day weekend.

Skype is a wonderful thing! We talked to each other as if we were in the same room. Going back and forth, the great question was about the shipping. In the middle of this conversation my son-in-law shows up. Was he not at work? “Did God send you here to help me?” I asked. I sure needed his help at that moment! That he had a special reason to not be at work, that he came at the right moment, that he gave me the advice I needed… all of that was part of the “present” to Cristina’s mother.

We ordered the laptop with accessories hoping that it would arrive in Florida before June 1st, when the friend was flying back to Lima. I had no way of ordering priority shipping from Amazon, but I could always pray about it. I love it that we can come to God at any time and ask about anything, knowing that he will answer. The laptop was ordered and arrived on time! It’s on its way to Peru! What an amazing answer to prayer! (I hope Maria, Cristina’s mother, doesn’t read this so it ruins the surprise!)

“May he [the Lord] give you the desires of your heart,” it reads in Psalm 20. I had this desire about helping my friend Maria. God put the same desire in Cristina’s heart. Now we are just waiting to surprise her!

I have so much going on, so many projects, so many ideas… it seems like there is no end to it. The latest is a series of stories I’m going to write, which I don’t know how they will develop. I just want to teach kids the importance of what we speak. I’m going to work the lessons with the help of two little boys called Salt and Pepper. Here they are:

The story is based on this verse:

Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer each person. Colossians 4:6 ESV

This is in a nutshell what has been happening at my little corner of the world. Stress and blessings, salt and pepper, ideas and more ideas…

Let me finish with something important we will be doing. Nothing is more important than to hide the Word of God in your heart. We are going to do cards that we can use to memorize Bible verses.

Here is the first set to get started. Print on thick paper or light card stock. Cut out the cards and hold them together with a clip. Memorize the verses! Share them!

Faith Cards: Bible Promises FAITH

Be blessed and have a great week-end!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

