Turn Worry into Prayer

I think I should change the title to “Turn Frustration into Praise,” because that is what wants to overcome me right now. Instead of feeling frustrated I need to praise God! I just happened to hit a wrong key on my computer and lost everything I had written about turning worry into prayer. “Suck it up, buttercup” I heard the preacher say in his sermon. I will suck it up, go on with life, and start all over!

We had good preaching this morning. It lasted over an hour. Nobody was getting nervous about it, even if the service was going way over the usual time. How do I know? I sit at the very last row, not because I like to sit way back. I have been sitting on the front row ever since I first visited New Life Assembly of God in Fort Gibson. But I need to memorize people and faces so I can connect them with names, and that way get to know who is who. I want to make some friends!

MY BLESSED SATURDAY

Before I tell you about the sermon, let me share about my Saturday. It was supposed to be “de-stressing,” since the week had had enough stress. So, I decided not to turn on the computer. But then, very soon, I had a feeling that I should turn it on. It was right! My Peruvian friend from youth, Anita Olsson, who for many years was a missionary in Peru but now lives in Sweden, sent me a request for help. She was going to teach a class and had found something that would enhance the experience. I usually prepare materials for Anita and she had some that she had used before with another set of children, so we were sure she was all set. But, then, this new thing she had found would be so good. Could I help her?

Of course, I would help her! You call me anytime you need teaching materials and I’ll be happy to postpone house cleaning! It took us a while to figure out where the thing was that she had “found” that would be so good if I did it in Swedish for her. I have 370 stories published, and if you can’t give me the number of the story I can have a hard time finding it. The only thing she could say was that it was a clock, and she confused me because she mentioned my English MX1414.wordpress.com page. I went through everything there but there was no clock. Finally, I asked her to take a picture and send me.

When we at last figured out what she wanted I went to work. There is a time-change of seven hours between her place and my place. She had sent me the request early on Saturday, but since I had decided not to turn on the computer I received it when it was evening in Sweden.

If you want to see what I did, it’s a combination of a picture of a boy in a story about a clock, a clock that has an activity, and then a puzzle. The title is: Your Heart is Valuable. For the puzzle, you look at the different times on the clock and get the letters, that spell: Take care of your heart.

Would you like to have this in English? I’d be happy to do it for you. Write me!

Swedish activity: Ditt hjarta ar vardefullt

This morning, in the middle of the sermon, my phone rings. I usually don’t put it on silent because nobody calls me during church, but Anita wasn’t sure about the time difference and she was excited to tell me what a blessing that activity and the other materials she had prepared were. Good thing I was sitting in the back! She called me back later.

Did she have a big class? Not what most people would consider big. “Just” 2 boys! And three adults, counting herself. But those were the boys that never could sit still. This time, they loved the activity. They even colored the boy on the picture. Other times they had never wanted to do any activities. Guess if I’m happy about postponing my cleaning!

I did get my washing done and my kitchen zinc cleaned. The other stuff will be there tomorrow and the next day. Have you noticed that the more you let it sit the more the dust will accumulate? Can that be called a blessing?

GOD PROVIDES TENNIS-SHOES

The more you give, the more you get! That’s a blessing! Let me tell you of a lady at church that had a blessing. She has been doing garage sales to help with money for our church van. We just got a van, and it’s paid for in full. She and her husband needed new tennis-shoes. She was hoping that something might come in for the garage sale. Low and behold, somebody brought a pair of “New Balance” in her size! She got excited and told the person that donated them about it. Since they were her size, the person donating the shoes told her to keep them.

“I can’t do that,” she said. “They are for the garage sale. I will have to buy them.” “Well,” the person said, “let’s put a price on them. One dollar.” Then, that same person, the one that had brought the tennis-shoes, took out five dollars and “bought” the shoes she had donated, and she then gave them to the lady doing the garage sale.

It’s so exciting to see how God works in different ways to provide for his children. Here, he provided tennis-shoes for a very generous lady, giving of her time and energy to provide for the church van.

DON’T WORRY, PRAY!

Are you still with me? Let me just say some words about the sermon we had this morning. “Breaking the Spirit of Worry and Anxiety,” was the title. Romans 12:1 was the key Scripture, about renewing our mind.

I’m not going to preach the sermon here, but I will just tell you, what you probably know, that worry, anxiety and fear keep us in bondage. But Jesus has come to set us free. We can speak the Word of God over every situation, and instead of worrying we can have victory.

It was last Wednesday that I had the overload of stress. I could not sit back and roll my thumbs and wait for God to drop the answer in front of me in a nice little package. I had to work in finding an answer to my problem. But I prayed as I worked, and I asked Jesus to have mercy on me.

I also had my Assistant working on the problem. When I had done everything in my power and I could not think of one more thing to do, Somebody (I believe it was the Lord!) dropped an idea in my head. So, I did one more thing! I wrote an SOS email. If you read my previous blog you know what happened. At the eleventh hour, the answer came. At 11.00 pm I sent my final file with the book I had been working on so diligently for several days.

I turned my anxious and worrisome thoughts into a prayer of victory! That’s what Pastor Orman talked about today. That’s what I would like to encourage you to do.

I’m sure there are a lot of challenges ahead of me that I don’t know about. Lots more opportunities to practice what I preach, and what Pastor Orman preached about. The same God that was with me yesterday, is the same God that is with me today, and the same God that will be with me tomorrow. He will never fail. He will never leave me.

It’s the same for you! Trust the Lord, no matter what!

Blessings in abundance for a super amazing week!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

