A Heart like the Heart of God

I’m reading a book called Love Story by Nichole Nordeman, The Hand that Holds us from the Garden to the Gates. How this book landed in my hands has to do with a super bargain sale at Mardel. I have a stack of books that I bought at the beginning of summer for one dollar each. I love these kinds of bargains. I even thought I could make a profit! (Don’t tell anybody, but I could double the price at our next garage sale!)

Joking aside, if it weren’t for the sale, I would never have bought the book. The writings of a recording artist and songwriter is nothing that speaks loudly enough for me as to pick up that kind of a book. But biographies and mission biographies do speak loundly! This book is a different kind of “biography.” Nichole writes about Bible characters and ends each chapter with lyrics from music inspired by The Story.

Have you read The Story? I’ve been reading The Story all my life! But this particular “The Story” tells The Story in an easy-to-read sequence, telling The Story from beginning to end… No, there is no end… We are living The Story. We are on our way to The Gates!

Have I confused you? A few months ago I sent a copy of The Story to one of my cousins who has grown up without The Story, because my uncle didn’t believe. I want her to know The Story, but most of all I wish that she will come to know the Author of The Story. I pray for her every day.

Have you grown up knowing The Story? Is the Author your Father and Savior? There aren’t words enough to express the gratitude I feel because I had parents who taught me The Story. I love The Story. I love the Author. Which brings me to the title of this blog: A Heart like the Heart of God.

I’ve been meditating deeply these last few weeks on the Apostle Paul’s words to the church at Ephesus:

Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children.
Ephesians 5:1

I’ve been writing down scriptures on the subject and thinking about how to incorporate it in one of the stories about Salt and Pepper (I mentioned in my last blog the cute little guys that keep my mind busy these days). “Imitators of God, as beloved children.” Usually a child wants to be like her father, if she has a father, and if that father is a good father. I feel so sad for all the children who grow up without a loving father!

I’ve looked up to my father all my life. And I still have my father! We talk on the phone or on Skype several times a week. I called him today. “I don’t have very much to tell you, because of the heat I can’t get out much. But I wanted to hear your voice.” We don’t have to say very much. It doesn’t have to be a long conversation. But I want my father to know that he is appreciated and never forgotten.

As I am reading along in the book, I get to the part about David. (David, but not the David in The Story, is my favorite boy in all the world! How I hope God can say the same thing about him, as he said about the David in the Bible, that he was a man after his own heart!)

This is the part that touched me to the core, part of the lyrics, titled your heart:

At the end of the day, I wanna hear people say

My heart looks like your heart,

My heart looks like your heart.

When the world looks at me, let them agree

That my heart looks like your heart,

My heart looks like your heart.

“And when he [God] had removed him [King Saul], he raised up David to be their king, of whom he testified and said, ‘I have found in David the son of Jesse a man after my heart, who will do all my will.’” Acts 13:22

Yes, that’s what I want! I want my heart to look like God’s heart. So, how is God’s heart? This is the best description I can come up with!

I want my heart to be pure, like my Father’s heart.

I want my heart to be perfect, like my Father’s heart.

I want my heart to be good, like my Father’s heart.

“And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. 27 And I will put my Spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes and be careful to obey my rules.” Ezekiel 36:26,27

This is what God’s heart looks like:

Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you. Ephesians 4:32

This is the kind of heart that I want! “God, I want my heart looks like your heart.”

How about you, my friend?

Do you want to read “Love Story”? See: worthypublishing.com

May you also desire to have a heart that looks like God’s heart!

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in God, Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

