A Closed Door

It’s been almost a week since a great door for opportunity closed smack in my face. I could be hurt, I could be bitter, I could be disappointed, I could be desperate. None of the above! I feel such peace from God and no hurt feelings whatsoever.

Mary, my dad wife, told me, “If one door closes, two others open.” That is exactly what seems to be happening. If the possibility that was presented to me this afternoon pans out, it’s something one hundred times more amazing then the door that was shut.

I am fighting to defend the cause of the little ones, those that cannot speak up for themselves. Anytime you speak up for a cause there are going to be those that oppose you and don’t understand. I wrote yesterday about my friend from Peru calling to cheer me on. This afternoon another of my Peruvian friends, a girl I used to have in Sunday school and church that is now a missionary in Nicaragua, called to add some more logs on my fire. It is a fire I have burning in my heart and I cannot keep silent until the situation that I am fighting for is resolved.

We talked long and hard, both of us passionate for the well-being of the little ones. We discovered we’re cut with the same pattern. If we see something we believe is wrong, we will not keep quiet. And if I don’t fight at this moment in my life I will be responsible for agreeing with the matter at hand.

There is an example from the Bible times of a man that was called by God to be a watchman. This is a soul-searching passage. In the matter I’m fighting these days, the Lord told me he put me as a watchman (but I’m a woman and we can also exercise that ministry).

Ezekiel 3:16-19

At the end of seven days the word of the LORD came to me: 17 “Son of man, I have made you a watchman for the house of Israel; so hear the word I speak and give them warning from me. 18 When I say to a wicked man, ‘You will surely die,’ and you do not warn him or speak out to dissuade him from his evil ways in order to save his life, that wicked man will die for his sin, and I will hold you accountable for his blood. 19 But if you do warn the wicked man and he does not turn from his wickedness or from his evil ways, he will die for his sin; but you will have saved yourself. (NIV)

What a responsibility we have! I think of it all the time. Most of all concerning eternity, warning men and women, young and old of the impending doom. Showing them the way of salvation in Jesus Christ.

If you ever know something that isn’t right, and you don’t speak up, for whatever reason, you will be hold accountable. Each one of us will give an account before God for what we do or fail to do.

Remember what I did last week? Some hours before the door closed smack in my face? I hired Susie. Her name is really Cristina. She has worked very hard this week and delivered quite a few pictures. I decided to give her the rest of the week off. To get good pictures for my stories is invaluable. It saves me lots of time. Enjoy one of the pictures. This one reminds me what I did last week when my struggle was at its worst. I tuned on my little Sarah’s Dream Light, that filled the ceiling with stars, then looked up and remembered about Abraham, looking up into the sky as a visual of God’s promise. This girl is reminded that every day is a miracle.

CADA DIA ES UN MILAGRO

The story of this picture is coming, written by a lady in Bolivia. If you have stories you want to contribute, be my guest! Welcome! I can’t promise I’ll publish them, but I’ll consider them to see if they fit into my program.

It’s nighttime for me. I could try to look up into the sky but there is no way I can stick my head out the window. There is a screen sitting in the way.

Don’t be concerned about closed doors. New ones will open. Most people that have encountered closed doors or have been fired look back at those times as the best, because it opened up for them new and much better opportunities.

I see the door that has closed in my face as a great opportunity to pursue new and different avenues. Praise God for closed doors!